أسئلة وأجوبة حول المشروع

أين يقع المشروع؟

ستكون توربينات الرياح ، والكابلات بين المصفوفات ، والمحطة الفرعية الكهربائية البحرية لمشروع Mayflower Wind في منطقة تأجير الساحل الأطلسي الخارجي للجرف القاري OCS-A 0521، التي تقع على بعد 30 ميلاً جنوب مارثا فينيارد و 20 ميلاً جنوب نانتوكيت.

من أجل تعظيم إمكانات سعة منطقة الإيجار ، تسعى Mayflower Wind إلى اتباع مسارات تصدير مزدوجة لتوصيل الطاقة لعملاء الكهرباء عبر نقاط الربط البيني في فالماوث وسومرست ، ماساتشوستس.

  • ستمتد كابلات تصدير الغواصات شمالًا عبر قناة Muskeget ثم غربًا باتجاه Vineyard Sound ، قبل أن تصل إلى اليابسة في Falmouth ، التي تبعد أكثر من 50 ميلاً. ستقوم الكابلات الكهربائية تحت الأرض بتوصيل الطاقة بمحطة فرعية برية في فالماوث. ستمتد خطوط النقل تحت الأرض من محطة فالماوث الفرعية إلى نقطة فالماوث للربط البيني إلى شبكة الطاقة الإقليمية.
  • لا يزال يتم تحديد مسار الكابلات البحرية من منطقة الإيجار إلى Brayton Point ، التي تبعد أكثر من 70 ميلاً عن منطقة التأجير البحرية ، بناءً على عمليات المسح والدراسات الجارية وعملية الترخيص. سوف يمتد المسار إلى الشمال الغربي عبر مياه ولاية رود آيلاند ونهر ساكونيت وخليج ماونت هوب ، مع وجود معبر مدفون تحت الأرض في بورتسموث ، قبل توصيل الطاقة إلى برايتون بوينت Interconnection.

لن يتم اتخاذ قرارات نهائية بشأن مواقع مواقع مرافق المشروع حتى يتم الانتهاء من تحليل التوجيه الكامل. مسوحات خط الأساس جارية حاليًا لجمع البيانات في الموقع وتقييم مدى ملاءمة المواقع البديلة لتحليل كامل ومنطقي للبدائل.

كم فدان في منطقة التأجير الخارجية الفيدرالية؟

123,388 فدان. 

ما مقدار الطاقة التي ستولدها Mayflower Wind؟

نحن نعمل على تطوير منطقة تأجير فيدرالية خارجية لديها القدرة على توليد أكثر من 2,000 ميغاواط من الطاقة ، اعتمادًا على التكنولوجيا. هذه طاقة كافية لتزويد ما يقرب من 800,000 ألف منزل بالطاقة.

ما هو الجدول الزمني العام للمشروع؟

نتوقع توفير طاقة نظيفة من المشروع بحلول منتصف عام 2020. 

من الذي سيستفيد من المشروع؟

سيستفيد الأفراد والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء ولاية ماساتشوستس من مشروع Mayflower Wind.

سيستفيد كل من دافعي الأسعار السكنية والتجارية من الطاقة منخفضة التكلفة الناتجة عن المشروع ، مما يوفر أكثر من 2 مليار دولار من فواتير الكهرباء على مدى عمر المشروع ، وفقًا لإدارة موارد الطاقة في ماساتشوستس. ستعمل طاقة الرياح من المشروع على تعزيز موثوقية النظام الكهربائي ، خاصة في ذروة أشهر الشتاء.

سيدعم المشروع الوظائف الجديدة ونمو سلسلة التوريد عبر جميع المراحل - التطوير والبناء والعمليات. على وجه الخصوص ، التزم المشروع بضمان أن 75٪ على الأقل من جميع وظائف التشغيل والصيانة محلية.

تستفيد الحكومات على جميع المستويات من زيادة الإيرادات والنشاط الاقتصادي. تلقت حكومة الولايات المتحدة 135 مليون دولار لدفع الإيجار الفيدرالي في الخارج. يقدر أن المشروع سيوفر ما يقرب من 2.5 مليار دولار من الفوائد الاقتصادية الإجمالية للكومنولث.

على مدار فترة العقد البالغة 20 عامًا ، سيستفيد المواطنون في ولاية ماساتشوستس من هواء أنظف ، حيث سيؤدي المشروع إلى التخلص من أكثر من ثلاثة عشر مليون طن متري من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري على مستوى النظام بمجرد تشغيله.

 

ما التصاريح والتراخيص التي تحتاجها Mayflower Wind قبل أن تبدأ في البناء؟

سيتطلب مشروع Mayflower Wind تصاريح وموافقات محلية وحكومية وإقليمية واتحادية للأعمال ذات الصلة على الشاطئ ، وبالقرب من الشاطئ ، وفي الخارج. تمتلك Mayflower Wind الخبرة والمعرفة والقدرة على الحصول على التصاريح والموافقات اللازمة لتطوير وتشغيل مشاريع الطاقة البحرية.

تلقت Mayflower Wind الموافقة على خطة تقييم الموقع الخاصة بها من المكتب الفيدرالي لإدارة طاقة المحيطات (BOEM) في مايو 2020 ، وتقوم حاليًا بإجراء مسوحات أساسية على الشاطئ وفي البحر مطلوبة لتعزيز الهندسة وتقييم الآثار البيئية والتاريخية والثقافية والاجتماعية المحتملة. وقد تم ، وستستمر ، متابعة هذه الجهود بمدخلات من المجتمعات المحلية وأصحاب المصلحة لضمان مشروع آمن وموثوق ومسؤول.

كيف يمكن إشراك الجمهور في مراجعة المشروع؟

تعد المشاركة العامة في عملية تطوير طاقة الرياح البحرية أمرًا بالغ الأهمية. تساعد المدخلات المبكرة من أصحاب المصلحة في إعلام تصميم المشروع وتخطيطه. تلتزم Mayflower Wind بتطوير المشروع من خلال عملية مفتوحة وشفافة وتعاونية.

تتضمن عملية التصريح والمراجعة التنظيمية اجتماعات عامة رسمية وفترات تعليقات عامة للسماح لجميع الأطراف المهتمة بمشاركة المعلومات وتقديم التعليقات. نحن نشجع الناس على الاتصال بنا إذا كانت لديهم أسئلة أو يرغبون في معرفة المزيد عن المشروع.

من المسؤول عن إزالة مرافق المشروع إذا لم يعد يعمل؟

سوف تمتثل Mayflower Wind لجميع متطلبات المكتب الفيدرالي الأمريكي لإدارة طاقة المحيط (BOEM) لإيقاف التشغيل ، بما في ذلك إزالة المرافق والكابلات والمشاريع والعوائق الضرورية في قاع البحر. تتطلب التزامات الإيجار الخارجية الفيدرالية من Mayflower Wind إنشاء صندوق إيقاف التشغيل. كجزء من عملية الموافقة على المشروع ، ستضع Mayflower Wind خطة أولية لإيقاف التشغيل. ستستمر مراجعة هذه الخطة وتحسينها على مدار العمر التشغيلي للمشروع لدمج الاكتشافات والتطورات الجديدة في مجالات العلوم والهندسة البحرية ، بالإضافة إلى الدروس المستفادة من صناعة الرياح البحرية والعمليات البحرية الأخرى.

ما مقدار الطاقة التي سيتم توصيلها بفالماوث؟ 

تعتزم Mayflower Wind زيادة الإنتاج من منطقة الإيجار البحرية ، والتي لديها القدرة على توليد أكثر من 2,000 ميغاواط من الطاقة النظيفة منخفضة التكلفة. لتمكين الطاقة من منطقة التأجير للتدفق إلى شبكة النقل الإقليمية التي تديرها ISO New England ، يجب أن تمر Mayflower Wind عبر عملية ربط ISO New England. لدى ISO New England مطلب تخطيط يحد ، في الواقع ، من قدرة مشروع واحد في نقطة واحدة من الربط البيني إلى ما لا يزيد عن 1,200 ميغاواط. نتيجة لذلك ، سيتطلب تطوير الإمكانات الكاملة لمنطقة الإيجار مجموعتين من مرافق ربط الاتصال البيني. تخطط Mayflower Wind لاستخدام نقطة اتصال بيني في فالماوث ، ماساتشوستس ، وأخرى في برايتون بوينت في سومرست ، ماساتشوستس. سعينا المتزامن لتحقيق 1,200 ميغاواط من السعة في فالماوث و 1,200 ميغاواط في برايتون بوينت يمنحنا المرونة للمستقبل.

لماذا تسعى شركة Mayflower Wind للحصول على إعفاء من لائحة فالماوث 240-166 لأنظمة طاقة الرياح؟

يتم تحديد مواقع مشاريع البنية التحتية للطاقة في المصلحة العامة من خلال عمليات توجيه واسعة النطاق والمشاركة العامة. من أجل ضمان إمكانية إكمال المشاريع ، يحق للجهات التي تبنيها طلب الإعفاءات عند الضرورة للسماح ببناء المشروع في الوقت المناسب. يجب أن تفي الإعفاءات من اللوائح المحلية لتقسيم المناطق بالمعايير الراسخة التي وضعتها إدارة المرافق العامة. تسعى Mayflower Wind للحصول على إعفاء من اللائحة 240-166 من أجل بناء المشروع في فالماوث.

هل هناك مشاريع أخرى للكابلات بجهد 345 كيلوفولت قيد الخدمة حاليًا في المناطق المكتظة بالسكان؟

نعم ، يشتمل نظام النقل الحالي Eversource في فالماوث ، والذي تسعى Mayflower Wind إلى ربطه ببعضه ، يتضمن خطوطًا علوية تبلغ 345 كيلوفولت. يربط خط 345 كيلو فولت ويست بارنستابل بورن.

من الأمثلة الحديثة على 345 كيلو فولت من مشاريع الكابلات تحت الأرض ، مشروع Woburn to Wakefield ، ماساتشوستس ، بطول 8 أميال ؛ ومن Middletown إلى Norwalk ، كونيتيكت ، مشروع بطول 22 ميلاً ؛ مثبتة في مناطق متعددة ذات كثافة سكانية عالية.

كابل بحري بطول 65 ميلاً بطول 345 كيلوفولت ، مشروع هدسون ، يوفر 600 ميغاوات من الطاقة بين نيوجيرسي ولونغ آيلاند. كابل إضافي منفصل بطول 65 ميلاً بطول 500 كيلوفولت ، وهو مشروع نبتون ، يوفر 600 ميغاواط أخرى من الطاقة بين تلك الأحياء.

تشمل البنية التحتية الكهربائية الحالية في أوروبا وآسيا كابل نقل تحت الأرض يصل إلى 500 كيلو فولت.

ما هي المفاضلات بين DC مقابل AC؟

بشكل عام ، تعتبر تقنية التيار المباشر عالي الجهد (HVDC) أكثر كفاءة لنقل كميات كبيرة من الطاقة عبر مسافات طويلة ، لأنها تتكبد فقد أقل للطاقة عند مقارنتها بأنظمة التيار المتردد المكافئ (HVAC). ومع ذلك ، تتطلب أنظمة HVDC معدات محول تكون عادةً أكثر تكلفة ولها سلسلة إمداد محدودة.

الحد الأدنى الذي يمكن أن يكون اختيار HVDC فوقه خيارًا أفضل هو على مسافات تتراوح بين 60 إلى 75 ميلاً.

ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن HVAC هي التقنية المفضلة لطريق التسليم إلى Falmouth ، بينما سيتم استخدام تقنية HVDC لطريق التسليم إلى Brayton Point.

هل تخطط لاستئجار أو شراء العقار في برايتون بوينت؟

ستقوم Mayflower Wind بتأجير ممتلكات في Brayton Point للنقل البري وتوصيل الشبكة.

كيف سيفيد المشروع سومرست؟

سيخلق بناء محطة الكابلات والمحول تحت الأرض في برايتون بوينت فرص عمل لمجموعة متنوعة من المقاولين المحليين المؤهلين ، في مجالات مثل المسح والتصنيف والركام والخرسانة وغيرها من الهندسة المدنية والكهربائية. ستشهد شركات البيع بالتجزئة والضيافة المحلية نشاطًا متزايدًا للسلع والخدمات. نحن نشجع المقاولين والموردين المهتمين على سجل معنا.

كيف سيفيد المشروع بورتسموث؟

سيخلق بناء الكابلات الأرضية في بورتسموث فرص عمل لمجموعة متنوعة من المقاولين المحليين المؤهلين ، في مجالات مثل المسح والتصنيف والركام والخرسانة وغيرها من الهندسة المدنية والكهربائية. ستشهد شركات البيع بالتجزئة والضيافة المحلية نشاطًا متزايدًا للسلع والخدمات. نحن نشجع المقاولين والموردين المهتمين على سجل معنا.

كم عدد التوربينات التي تخطط لتركيبها؟

تحتوي منطقة الإيجار على 149 موقعًا لتركيب توربينات الرياح ومنصات المحطات الفرعية البحرية.

ما هي التكلفة المتوقعة لرياح ماي فلاور من الحمل حتى الاستعداد للتشغيل؟

التكلفة الإجمالية المقدرة حوالي 5 مليار دولار.

هل تستقبل فالماوث الطاقة أم أن الطاقة تنتقل عبر الشبكة فقط؟

سيستفيد عملاء الكهرباء لشركات التوزيع من جميع أنحاء الكومنولث من موارد الطاقة النظيفة لشركة Mayflower Wind حيث ستساهم الطاقة في استهلاكهم للطاقة وإزالة الكربون من الشبكة الكهربائية.

Eversource هي الأداة الحالية لشركتي Falmouth و Cape Cod ، بالإضافة إلى New Bedford وجزء كبير من SouthCoast - على الرغم من وجود Somerset و Fall River في منطقة خدمة الشبكة الوطنية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تدعم Mayflower Wind الجهود التي يبذلها ممثل ولاية فالماوث ديلان فرنانديز للسماح لمجمّعات البلديات ، مثل Cape Light Compact ، بالقدرة على الدخول في عقود طويلة الأجل قابلة للتمويل المباشر مع مطوري طاقة الرياح البحرية. The Compact هو مجمّع صديق للبيئة يطابق استخدام عملائه في 21 مدينة في Cape and Martha's Vineyard مع خيارات التوريد المختلفة.

هل هناك أي عمليات شراء للأراضي أو عمليات الاستيلاء على ملكية بارزة؟

لا توجد عمليات الاستيلاء. سيتم تثبيت المشروع في المقام الأول تحت الممتلكات العامة (الطرق المعبدة الحالية أو أكتاف جانب الطريق) وفوق الأرض في محطة فرعية ، والتي ستكون موجودة في ملكية خاصة. يتم إجراء المفاوضات مع مالكي الممتلكات الخاصة بطريقة تحترم حقوق الملكية الخاصة بهم.

Project FAQs

Where will the project be located?

The wind turbines, inter-array cables, and offshore electric substation for the Mayflower Wind project will be located in the Atlantic Coast Outer Continental Shelf lease area OCS-A 0521, which is over 30 miles south of Martha’s Vineyard and 20 miles south of Nantucket.

In order to maximize the potential of the lease area capacity, Mayflower Wind is pursuing dual export cable routes to deliver the power to electricity customers via interconnection points at Falmouth and Somerset, Massachusetts.

  • Submarine export cables will extend north through Muskeget Channel and then west towards Vineyard Sound, before making landfall in Falmouth, which is over 50 miles away. Underground electric cables will connect power to an onshore substation in Falmouth. Underground transmission lines will extend from the Falmouth substation to the Falmouth point of interconnection to the regional power grid.
  • Submarine cable routing from the lease area to Brayton Point, which is over 70 miles away from the offshore lease area, is still being determined, based upon ongoing surveys, studies, and the permitting process. The routing would extend northwest through Rhode Island state waters, the Sakonnet River, and Mount Hope Bay, with a buried underground crossing in Portsmouth, before connecting power to Brayton Point Interconnection.

No final decisions on site locations for project facilities will be made until a full routing analysis has been completed. Baseline surveys are currently underway to gather data on-site and assess the suitability of alternative sites for a complete and reasoned analysis of the alternatives.

How many acres are in the federal offshore lease area?

123,388 acres. 

How much power will Mayflower Wind generate?

We are developing a federal offshore lease area that has the potential to generate over 2,000 megawatts (MW) of power, depending on technology. That is enough energy to power close to 800,000 homes.

What is the overall project timeline?

We expect to deliver clean energy from the project by the mid-2020s. 

Who will benefit from the project?

Individuals and communities across Massachusetts will benefit from the Mayflower Wind project.

Both residential and business ratepayers will benefit from low-cost energy generated by the project, saving over $2 billion on electric bills over the project’s lifetime, according to the Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources. Wind power from the project will enhance electric system reliability, especially in peak winter months.

The project will support new jobs and supply chain growth across all phases—development, construction, and operations. In particular, the project has committed to ensure at least 75% of all operations and maintenance jobs are local.

Governments at all levels benefit from the increased revenue and economic activity. The US government has received $135 million for the federal offshore lease payment. The project is estimated to provide nearly $2.5 billion in total economic benefit to the Commonwealth.

Over the 20-year contract period, citizens in Massachusetts will benefit from cleaner air, as the project will eliminate over thirteen million metric tons of greenhouse gas emissions system-wide once in operation.

 

What permits and licenses does Mayflower Wind need before it can start construction?

The Mayflower Wind project will require local, state, regional, and federal permits and approvals for relevant onshore, nearshore, and offshore work. Mayflower Wind has the experience, knowledge, and capacity to obtain the permits and approvals necessary to develop and operate offshore energy projects.

Mayflower Wind received approval of its Site Assessment Plan from the federal Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) in May 2020 and is currently undertaking onshore and offshore baseline surveys required to advance engineering and evaluate potential environmental, historical, cultural and social impacts. These efforts have been, and will continue to be, pursued with input from communities and stakeholders to ensure a safe, reliable, and responsible project.

How can the public be involved in reviewing the project?

Public participation in the offshore wind development process is critical. Early input from stakeholders helps inform project design and planning. Mayflower Wind is committed to developing the project through an open, transparent, and collaborative process.

The permitting and regulatory review process includes formal public meetings and public comment periods to allow all interested parties to share information and submit feedback. We encourage people to contact us if they have questions or would like to learn more about the project.

Who is responsible for removing the project facilities if it is no longer operational?

Mayflower Wind will comply with all federal US Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) requirements for decommissioning, including removal of necessary facilities, cables, projects, and obstructions on the seafloor. Federal offshore Lease obligations require Mayflower Wind to set up a decommissioning fund. As part of the project approval process, Mayflower Wind will develop a preliminary decommissioning plan. This plan will continue to be reviewed and improved over the operating life of the project to incorporate new discoveries and advancements in the fields of marine science and engineering, as well as lessons learned from the offshore wind industry and other offshore operations.

How much power will interconnect to Falmouth? 

Mayflower Wind intends to maximize output from the offshore lease area, which has the potential to generate over 2,000 megawatts (MW) of low-cost clean energy. To enable energy from the lease area to flow into the regional transmission grid operated by ISO New England, Mayflower Wind must go through the ISO New England interconnection process. ISO New England has a planning requirement that, in effect, limits the capacity of a single project at a single point of interconnection to no more than 1,200 MW. As a result, developing the full potential of the lease area will require two sets of transmission interconnection facilities. Mayflower Wind plans to utilize one point of interconnection in Falmouth, Massachusetts, and another at Brayton Point in Somerset, Massachusetts. Our simultaneous pursuit of 1,200 MW of capacity at Falmouth and 1,200 MW of capacity at Brayton Point gives us flexibility for the future.

Why is Mayflower Wind seeking exemption from Falmouth’s bylaw 240-166 Wind Energy Systems?

Energy infrastructure projects are sited in the public interest through extensive routing and public participation processes. In order to assure that projects can be completed, the entities building them have the right to seek exemptions when necessary to allow for the timely construction of the project. Exemptions from local zoning bylaws must meet well-established criteria set by the Department of Public Utilities. Mayflower Wind is seeking an exemption from the bylaw 240-166 in order to build the project in Falmouth.

Are there other 345 kV cable projects that are currently in service in densely populated areas?

Yes, the existing Eversource transmission system in Falmouth, to which Mayflower Wind is seeking to interconnect, includes 345 kilovolt (kV) overhead lines. A 345 kV line connects West Barnstable to Bourne.

Recent examples of 345 kilovolt underground cable projects include the Woburn to Wakefield, Massachusetts, project, 8 miles long; and the Middletown to Norwalk, Connecticut, project 22 miles long; installed in multiple densely populated areas.

A 65 mile long 345 kilovolt submarine cable, the Hudson Project, delivers 600 megawatts of power between New Jersey and Long Island. An additional separate 65 mile long 500 kilovolt submarine cable, the Neptune Project, delivers another 600 megawatts of power between those same neighborhoods.

Existing electrical infrastructure in Europe and Asia includes underground transmission cable rated up to 500 kV.

What are the tradeoffs between DC vs. AC?

Generally, high voltage direct current (HVDC) technology is considered more efficient for transferring large amounts of power over long distances, as it incurs less power loss when compared with equivalent alternating current (HVAC) systems.  However, HVDC systems require converter equipment that is traditionally more costly and has a more limited supply chain.

The threshold above which HVDC can be a better choice is at distances of about 60 to 75 miles.

As a result, HVAC is the preferred technology for the delivery route to Falmouth, while HVDC technology will be used for the delivery route to Brayton Point.

Do you plan on leasing or purchasing the property at Brayton Point?

Mayflower Wind would lease property at Brayton Point for onshore transmission and grid connection.

How will the project benefit Somerset?

Construction of the underground cables and converter station at Brayton Point will create job opportunities for a variety of qualified local contractors, in areas such as surveying, grading, aggregate and concrete, and other civil and electrical engineering. Local retail and hospitality businesses will see increased activity for goods and services. We encourage interested contractors and suppliers to register with us.

How will the project benefit Portsmouth?

Construction of the underground cables in Portsmouth will create job opportunities for a variety of qualified local contractors, in areas such as surveying, grading, aggregate and concrete, and other civil and electrical engineering. Local retail and hospitality businesses will see increased activity for goods and services. We encourage interested contractors and suppliers to register with us.

How many turbines are you planning to install?

The lease area has 149 positions to install wind turbines and offshore substation platforms.

What is the projected cost of Mayflower wind from conception to ready to operate?

The estimated total cost is about $5 billion.

Does Falmouth receive power or is energy just traveling through to the grid?

Electricity customers of distribution companies from across the Commonwealth will benefit from Mayflower Wind’s clean energy resource as the power will contribute to their power consumption and the decarbonatization of the electrical grid.

Eversource is the incumbent utility for Falmouth and Cape Cod, as well as for New Bedford and much of the SouthCoast – though Somerset and Fall River are located in National Grid’s service territory.

In addition, Mayflower Wind supports efforts by Falmouth State Representative Dylan Fernandes to allow municipal aggregators, such as the Cape Light Compact, the ability to enter direct financeable long-term contracts with offshore wind developers. The Compact is a green aggregator that matches its customers usage in the 21 towns on Cape and Martha’s Vineyard with various supply options.

Are there any land purchases or eminent domain takings?

There are no takings. The project will primarily be installed underneath public property (existing paved roadways or roadside shoulders) and above-ground at a substation, which will be located on private property. Negotiations with private property owners are conducted in a manner that is respectful of their property rights.