项目常见问题解答

该项目将位于何处?

Mayflower Wind 的风力涡轮机、阵列间电缆和海上变电站将位于大西洋海岸外大陆架租赁区 OCS-A 0521,该区域位于玛莎葡萄园 (Martha's Vineyard) 以南 30 多英里和楠塔基特 (Nantucket) 以南 20 英里处。

为了最大限度地发挥租赁区容量的潜力,Mayflower Wind 正在寻求双输电项目,将电力输送到陆上终端用户。 计划为新英格兰电网供电的第一个项目是 Mayflower Wind SouthCoast - 在马萨诸塞州萨默塞特的布雷顿角连接。 在马萨诸塞州法尔茅斯连接的第二个交付项目也在进行中。

五月花风南海岸:

  • 根据正在进行的调查、研究和许可程序,仍在确定从租赁区到距海上租赁区 70 多英里的布雷顿角的海底电缆布线。 该路线将向西北延伸,穿过罗德岛州水域、Sakonnet 河和希望山湾,在朴茨茅斯有一个短暂的地下通道,然后将电力连接到布雷顿角互连。

法尔茅斯连接:

  • 海底出口电缆将向北延伸穿过 Muskeget Channel,然后向西延伸至 Vineyard Sound,然后在 50 多英里外的法尔茅斯登陆。 地下电缆将把电力连接到法尔茅斯的一个陆上变电站。 地下输电线路将从法尔茅斯变电站延伸至与区域电网互连的法尔茅斯点。

在完成完整的路线分析之前,不会就项目设施的现场位置做出最终决定。 目前正在进行基线调查,以收集现场数据并评估替代地点的适用性,以对替代方案进行全面和合理的分析。

联邦离岸租赁区有多少英亩?

123,388 . 

五月花风能发电多少?

我们正在开发一个联邦海上租赁区域,根据技术,该区域有可能产生高达 2,400 兆瓦 (MW) 的电力。 这足以为该地区超过 XNUMX 万户家庭供电。

项目的总体时间表是什么?

我们预计到 2028 年将清洁能源输送到新英格兰。

谁将从该项目中受益?

新英格兰的个人和社区将受益于 Mayflower Wind 项目。

根据马萨诸塞州能源部的数据,在马萨诸塞州,住宅和商业纳税人都将受益于该项目产生的低成本能源,在该项目的整个生命周期内节省超过 2 亿美元的电费。

在整个新英格兰地区,该项目的风力发电将提高电力系统的可靠性,尤其是在冬季高峰期。 该项目还将支持开发、建设和运营各个阶段的数千个新工作岗位和供应链增长。 特别是,Mayflower Wind 承诺至少 75% 的所有运营和维护工作都在本地进行。

各级政府都受益于增加的收入和经济活动。 美国政府已收到 135 亿美元的联邦离岸租赁付款。 据估计,该项目将为英联邦提供近 2.5 亿美元的总经济效益。

在 20 年的合同期内,新英格兰的市民将受益于更清洁的空气,因为该项目一旦投入运行,将在整个系统范围内消除超过 XNUMX 万吨的温室气体排放。

五月花风电在开工建设前需要哪些许可证和执照?

Mayflower Wind 项目将需要当地、州、地区和联邦的许可和批准才能进行相关的陆上、近岸和海上工作。 Mayflower Wind 拥有获得开发和运营海上能源项目所需的许可和批准的经验、知识和能力。

Mayflower Wind 于 2020 年 XNUMX 月获得了联邦海洋能源管理局 (BOEM) 对其场地评估计划的批准,目前正在开展推进工程和评估潜在环境、历史、文化和社会影响所需的陆上和海上基线调查。 这些努力已经并将继续在社区和利益相关者的投入下进行,以确保安全、可靠和负责任的项目。

公众如何参与审查项目?

公众参与海上风电开发过程至关重要。 利益相关者的早期投入有助于为项目设计和规划提供信息。 Mayflower Wind 致力于通过开放、透明和协作的过程来开发该项目。

许可和监管审查过程包括正式的公开会议和公众意见征询期,以允许所有相关方共享信息并提交反馈。 我们鼓励人们在有问题或想了解有关该项目的更多信息时与我们联系。

如果不再运行,谁负责拆除项目设施?

Mayflower Wind 将遵守美国联邦海洋能源管理局 (BOEM) 对退役的所有要求,包括拆除必要的设施、电缆、项目和海底障碍物。 联邦离岸租赁义务要求 Mayflower Wind 设立退役基金。 作为项目审批流程的一部分,五月花风电将制定初步退役计划。 该计划将在项目的整个运营周期内继续进行审查和改进,以纳入海洋科学和工程领域的新发现和进步,以及从海上风电行业和其他海上作业中吸取的经验教训。

有多少电力将与萨默塞特相连? 法尔茅斯怎么样? 

Mayflower Wind 打算最大限度地提高海上租赁区域的产量,该区域有可能产生高达 2,400 兆瓦 (MW) 的低成本清洁能源。 为了使租赁区域的能源能够流入 ISO 新英格兰运营的区域输电网,Mayflower Wind 必须通过 ISO 新英格兰互连流程。 ISO 新英格兰有一项规划要求,实际上将单个项目在单个互连点的容量限制在不超过 1,200 兆瓦。 因此,开发租赁区的全部潜力将需要两套输电互联设施。 Mayflower Wind 计划在马萨诸塞州萨默塞特的 Brayton Point 和马萨诸塞州法尔茅斯的另一个互连点使用互连。 我们同时追求 Brayton Point 的 1,200 MW 容量和 Falmouth 的 1,200 MW 容量,这为我们未来提供了灵活性。

为什么 Mayflower Wind 寻求法尔茅斯章程 240-166 风能系统的豁免?

能源基础设施项目通过广泛的路线选择和公众参与过程符合公众利益。 为了确保项目能够完成,建设它们的实体有权在必要时寻求豁免,以便及时建设项目。 地方分区章程的豁免必须符合公用事业部制定的既定标准。 Mayflower Wind 正在寻求豁免条例 240-166,以便在法尔茅斯建造该项目。

DC与AC之间的权衡是什么?

通常,高压直流 (HVDC) 技术被认为更有效地远距离传输大量电力,因为与等效交流 (HVAC) 系统相比,它产生的功率损耗更少。 然而,HVDC 系统需要传统上更昂贵且供应链更有限的转换器设备。

高于该阈值的 HVDC 可以成为更好的选择,距离约为 60 到 75 英里。

因此,HVAC 是通往 Falmouth 的运输路线的首选技术,而 HVDC 技术将用于前往 Brayton Point 的运输路线。

您打算在布雷顿角租赁或购买房产吗?

Mayflower Wind 将在 Brayton Point 租赁物业用于陆上输电和电网连接。

该项目将如何使萨默塞特受益?

Brayton Point 地下电缆和换流站的建设将为各种合格的当地承包商创造就业机会,这些承包商涉及测量、分级、骨料和混凝土以及其他土木和电气工程等领域。 当地零售和酒店业的商品和服务活动将增加。 我们鼓励感兴趣的承包商和供应商 向我们注册。

该项目将如何使朴茨茅斯和更广泛的罗德岛受益?

Mayflower Wind SouthCoast 项目将为朴茨茅斯和大罗德岛州带来多种好处,例如:

  • 罗德岛海域近海航线的数百万美元水下土地租赁费
  • 在整个项目生命周期中创造 14,000 多个不同的工作机会
    • Mayflower Wind 已承诺在新英格兰南部本地采购至少 75% 的长期运营和维护工作
  • 朴茨茅斯镇陆上地下输电资产的地方收入
  • 供应链机会和支出,包括材料、设备和服务的采购、港口和船舶租赁的使用以及当地零售和酒店业务的支出
    • 我们最近与 RI Commerce Corporation 的一项倡议 SupplyRI 合作,以帮助我们有针对性地从 RI 公司采购商品和服务。我们鼓励感兴趣的承包商和供应商向我们以及 SupplyRI 注册。
  • Mayflower Wind 与罗德岛的许多地方机构和组织合作,支持海洋之州的各种学术、经济和环境倡议。
您打算安装多少台涡轮机?

租赁区域有149个位置安装风力涡轮机和海上变电站平台。

五月花风从概念到准备运行的预计成本是多少?

估计总成本约为 5 亿美元。

朴茨茅斯、萨默塞特和法尔茅斯是否会从该项目获得电力,或者能源是否只是通过电网传输?

新英格兰的电力客户将受益于 Mayflower Wind 的清洁能源,因为电力将有助于提高区域电网的可靠性和脱碳。

是否有任何土地购买或征用征地?

没有收入。 该项目将主要安装在公共财产下方(现有的铺砌道路或路肩)和变电站的地上,该变电站将位于私人财产上。 与私有财产所有者的谈判以尊重其财产权的方式进行。

Project FAQs

Where will the project be located?

Mayflower Wind’s wind turbines, inter-array cables, and offshore electric substation/s will be located in the Atlantic Coast Outer Continental Shelf lease area OCS-A 0521, which is over 30 miles south of Martha’s Vineyard and 20 miles south of Nantucket.

In order to maximize the potential of the lease area capacity, Mayflower Wind is pursuing dual delivery projects to transmit the electricity to end-users onshore. The first project slated to deliver power to the New England electric grid is Mayflower Wind SouthCoast – Connecting in Brayton Point, Somerset, MA. A second delivery project, connecting in Falmouth, MA is also being pursued.

Mayflower Wind SouthCoast:

  • Submarine cable routing from the lease area to Brayton Point, which is over 70 miles away from the offshore lease area, is still being determined, based upon ongoing surveys, studies, and the permitting process. The routing would extend northwest through Rhode Island state waters, the Sakonnet River, and Mount Hope Bay, with a brief buried underground crossing in Portsmouth, before connecting power to Brayton Point Interconnection.

Falmouth Connection:

  • Submarine export cables will extend north through Muskeget Channel and then west towards Vineyard Sound, before making landfall in Falmouth, which is over 50 miles away. Underground electric cables will connect power to an onshore substation in Falmouth. Underground transmission lines will extend from the Falmouth substation to the Falmouth point of interconnection to the regional power grid.

No final decisions on site locations for project facilities will be made until a full routing analysis has been completed. Baseline surveys are currently underway to gather data on-site and assess the suitability of alternative sites for a complete and reasoned analysis of the alternatives.

How many acres are in the federal offshore lease area?

123,388 acres. 

How much power will Mayflower Wind generate?

We are developing a federal offshore lease area that has the potential to generate up to 2,400 megawatts (MW) of power, depending on technology. That is enough energy to power more than one million homes in the region.

What is the overall project timeline?

We expect to deliver clean energy to New England by 2028.

Who will benefit from the project?

Individuals and communities across New England will benefit from the Mayflower Wind project.

In Massachusetts, both residential and business ratepayers will benefit from low-cost energy generated by the project, saving over $2 billion on electric bills over the project’s lifetime, according to the Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources.

Across all of New England, wind power from the project will enhance electric system reliability, especially in peak winter months. The project will also support thousands of new jobs and supply chain growth across all phases—development, construction, and operations. In particular, Mayflower Wind has committed to at least 75% of all operations and maintenance jobs being locally based.

Governments at all levels benefit from the increased revenue and economic activity. The US government has received $135 million for the federal offshore lease payment. The project is estimated to provide nearly $2.5 billion in total economic benefit to the Commonwealth.

Over the 20-year contract period, the citizens of New England will benefit from cleaner air, as the project will eliminate over thirteen million metric tons of greenhouse gas emissions system-wide once in operation.

What permits and licenses does Mayflower Wind need before it can start construction?

The Mayflower Wind project will require local, state, regional, and federal permits and approvals for relevant onshore, nearshore, and offshore work. Mayflower Wind has the experience, knowledge, and capacity to obtain the permits and approvals necessary to develop and operate offshore energy projects.

Mayflower Wind received approval of its Site Assessment Plan from the federal Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) in May 2020 and is currently undertaking onshore and offshore baseline surveys required to advance engineering and evaluate potential environmental, historical, cultural and social impacts. These efforts have been, and will continue to be, pursued with input from communities and stakeholders to ensure a safe, reliable, and responsible project.

How can the public be involved in reviewing the project?

Public participation in the offshore wind development process is critical. Early input from stakeholders helps inform project design and planning. Mayflower Wind is committed to developing the project through an open, transparent, and collaborative process.

The permitting and regulatory review process includes formal public meetings and public comment periods to allow all interested parties to share information and submit feedback. We encourage people to contact us if they have questions or would like to learn more about the project.

Who is responsible for removing the project facilities if it is no longer operational?

Mayflower Wind will comply with all federal US Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) requirements for decommissioning, including removal of necessary facilities, cables, projects, and obstructions on the seafloor. Federal offshore Lease obligations require Mayflower Wind to set up a decommissioning fund. As part of the project approval process, Mayflower Wind will develop a preliminary decommissioning plan. This plan will continue to be reviewed and improved over the operating life of the project to incorporate new discoveries and advancements in the fields of marine science and engineering, as well as lessons learned from the offshore wind industry and other offshore operations.

How much power will interconnect to Somerset? How about Falmouth? 

Mayflower Wind intends to maximize output from the offshore lease area, which has the potential to generate up to 2,400 megawatts (MW) of low-cost clean energy. To enable energy from the lease area to flow into the regional transmission grid operated by ISO New England, Mayflower Wind must go through the ISO New England interconnection process. ISO New England has a planning requirement that, in effect, limits the capacity of a single project at a single point of interconnection to no more than 1,200 MW. As a result, developing the full potential of the lease area will require two sets of transmission interconnection facilities. Mayflower Wind plans to utilize one point of interconnection at Brayton Point in Somerset, Massachusetts, and another in Falmouth, Massachusetts. Our simultaneous pursuit of 1,200 MW of capacity at Brayton Point, and 1,200 MW of capacity at Falmouth gives us flexibility for the future.

Why is Mayflower Wind seeking exemption from Falmouth’s bylaw 240-166 Wind Energy Systems?

Energy infrastructure projects are sited in the public interest through extensive routing and public participation processes. In order to assure that projects can be completed, the entities building them have the right to seek exemptions when necessary to allow for the timely construction of the project. Exemptions from local zoning bylaws must meet well-established criteria set by the Department of Public Utilities. Mayflower Wind is seeking an exemption from the bylaw 240-166 in order to build the project in Falmouth.

What are the tradeoffs between DC vs. AC?

Generally, high voltage direct current (HVDC) technology is considered more efficient for transferring large amounts of power over long distances, as it incurs less power loss when compared with equivalent alternating current (HVAC) systems.  However, HVDC systems require converter equipment that is traditionally more costly and has a more limited supply chain.

The threshold above which HVDC can be a better choice is at distances of about 60 to 75 miles.

As a result, HVAC is the preferred technology for the delivery route to Falmouth, while HVDC technology will be used for the delivery route to Brayton Point.

Do you plan on leasing or purchasing the property at Brayton Point?

Mayflower Wind would lease property at Brayton Point for onshore transmission and grid connection.

How will the project benefit Somerset?

Construction of the underground cables and converter station at Brayton Point will create job opportunities for a variety of qualified local contractors, in areas such as surveying, grading, aggregate and concrete, and other civil and electrical engineering. Local retail and hospitality businesses will see increased activity for goods and services. We encourage interested contractors and suppliers to register with us.

How will the project benefit Portsmouth and broader Rhode Island?

The Mayflower Wind SouthCoast project will provide a variety of benefits to Portsmouth and greater Rhode Island, such as:

  • Millions of dollars in submerged lands lease fees for the offshore route in Rhode Island waters
  • Creation of 14,000+ diverse job opportunities throughout the project lifecycle
    • Mayflower Wind has committed to sourcing at least 75% of our long-term operations & maintenance jobs locally in Southern New England
  • Local revenue from the onshore underground transmission assets in the Town of Portsmouth
  • Supply chain opportunities and spending, including procurement of materials, equipment, and services, use of port and vessel charters, and expenditures at local retail and hospitality businesses
    • We recently partnered with SupplyRI, an initiative of RI Commerce Corporation – to aid in our targeted procurement of goods and services specifically from RI-based companies.​ We encourage interested contractors and suppliers to register with us, as well as with SupplyRI.
  • Mayflower Wind has partnered with a number of local institutions and organizations across Rhode Island to support diverse academic, economic, and environmental initatives in the Ocean State.
How many turbines are you planning to install?

The lease area has 149 positions to install wind turbines and offshore substation platforms.

What is the projected cost of Mayflower wind from conception to ready to operate?

The estimated total cost is about $5 billion.

Will Portsmouth, Somerset, and Falmouth receive power from the project or is energy just traveling through to the grid?

Electricity customers across New England will benefit from Mayflower Wind’s clean energy resource as the power will contribute to the increased reliability and decarbonatization of the regional electrical grid.

Are there any land purchases or eminent domain takings?

There are no takings. The project will primarily be installed underneath public property (existing paved roadways or roadside shoulders) and above-ground at a substation, which will be located on private property. Negotiations with private property owners are conducted in a manner that is respectful of their property rights.